MTV Video Music Awards

It was definitely Britney’s night of redemption as she took home three moommen, for all three nominations that she received. For a complete list of winners, you can go to http://www.mtv.com/ontv/vma/2008/winners.jhtml. In fact, you can see all of the performances at the MTV website as well. I wanted to see Brit-Brit bring down the house and declaring her comeback, but instead, Rihanna opened the show. And she brought it – ambience, glamour, dancing, fashion. Even an interpolation of the White Stripes’ Seven Nation Army. Unfortunately, I was distracted by her awful voice. She needs to take a page from pop princesses and icons and learn how to lip-synch. If she does that, Rihanna could become the Janet Jackson of the millineum.

Other stand out performances included Pink and Christina Aguilera. I thought that XTina’s performance was tight. She brought the old with the new, glamour, dance moves, ambience and killer vocals. It’s nice to have her back. Pink used the Backlot as the set for her performance of her new song “So What”. I enjoyed her performance for the same reasons that I enjoyed Christina Aguilera.

I’m not a Jonas Brothers fan, and their acoustic opener threw me off, but I can appreciate the novelty. I feel like, if I want to hear an artist perform a song exactly like it is on the CD, why don’t I just pop in the CD? Live performances are the time to show me something I’ve never seen before. T.I.’s performance and his use of the set was interesting. Kanye West closed out the the show with a sound and light show. I think it was somewhat somber for the MTV Awards closer, but it had a concept. That’s all I ask.

Kanye West sings his heart out

Kanye West sings his heart out


I have to say that I was disappointed several times throughout the night. Lil Wayne could have brought more. He’s the hottest rapper out right now, on everybody’s track. I expected nothing less than a sound and light show. Not a performance that seemed to be thrown together the day before yesterday. And as much as I adore Kid Rock, I don’t think that song is a party song and stuck out like a sore thumb – not necessarily in a good way. And him bringing out Lil Wayne was just proved that two wrongs do not make a right.

The combo of Travis Barker (from Blink 182) and DJ AM (formerly Mr. Nicole Richie), appeared to be a hot combination and I wish I had seen more of them. LL Cool J, Lupe Fiasco, Katy Perry and the Ting Tings all performed on the floor during the commercial breaks. You know that’s just a ploy to get people over to the website. Fine, I’ll bite.

Paramore rocks it out at the MTV awards

Paramore rocks it out at the MTV awards

One last thing before I go over and check those out. I don’t know much about Paramore, but it always warms my heart to see a chick front a rock band.

~ by 2muchtv on September 8, 2008.

One Response to “MTV Video Music Awards”

  1. the best part of the VMA’s was Kanye West’s performance at the end… the worst part was the host (what’s with the accent?)

Leave a Reply

 
