Too Many Grits

Although Top Chef usually makes my mouth water, I was a little repelled by Wednesday’s episode. Too many grits. The truth is, I suffer from a mild case (internet self-diagnosis) of cibophobia. Cibophobia is an irrational fear of food. Of course, I’m not afraid of all food, but I have an aversion to mushy food. Pudding, yogurt, jelly, jello, cream of wheat, all of it. I put nuts in my oatmeal (sorry, that’s not a euphemism), and I chew ice cream. My mind can’t comprehend something that isn’t liquid, so I can swallow (like soup), but it isn’t solid so I can chew. So the goo just sits in my mouth freaking me out.

From WebMD – The National Institute of Mental Health estimates that about 5%-12% of Americans have phobias. Specific phobias affect an estimated 6.3 million adult Americans. I don’t have anxiety about grits, I just don’t eat them. Some people fear expiration dates, some people fear food that others have cooked. All of that fall under the category of cibophobia

~ by 2muchtv on February 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
