Being Eric[k]a

I’ve joined the ranks of women named Susan (Suddenly Susan), Betty (Ugly Betty), and Samantha (Samantha Who). There is a show with my name on it! It’s called Being Erica, and you can find it on SoapNet. OK, so it’s not a major network, but it’s something. And it only matters that the show whether the show is any good. The show is about a woman who has the opportunity to go back and change the things about her life that she regrets. She can’t go back and win the lottery or save her brother, she can only change things that effect her directly. Being that the show carries my name and all, I couldn’t help but to wonder what would I change in my life if I had the opportunity.

I am a firm believer that we all end up where we need to be when we need to be there. So, even if I were to go back and make different decisions, I’d have learned the same lessons in a different way. I, like Erica, am in a state of transition, and even in this state, there are only two things that I would definitely change: I wouldn’t have run up so much credit card debt. And there was a guy in college that I would have NOT given my number to.

But had I gone to a different college, gotten different jobs, lived in different places, I wouldn’t be better off than I am now, because the same lessons would have presented themselves differently. I guess what I’m trying to say is it doesn’t matter what I did or didn’t do then, I’m here now. and that is exactly where I am supposed to be.

That appears to be the lesson from the first episode that I’ve seen.

~ by 2muchtv on March 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
