Say What You Mean and Mean What You Say

On Sunday’s Tough Love, Jodi flips out when her date asks “Why are you still single”? As it played out in the episode, as in real life (for once), the question that she heard was quite different than the question he asked. He meant, “I can’t help but to think you’re too good to be true” (which is what he should have said). She heard, “What’s wrong with you?” . ‘Why are you still single’ is a loaded question. Especially when we know that Jodi has been examining herself and her role in repelling men.

Fairly often a man will ask a single girl “How come you don’t have a man?”. What he’s trying to gather is whether or not she is single, WHICH IS A BETTER QUESTION. Because there are only two answers that are appropriate for how come you don’t have a man: a) actually I do have a man, or b) the truth is that I prefer women. But that’s not really the question, right?

There are a plethora of other answers to that question, and those swirl through a girl’s head when she’s asked “How come you don’t have a man?”: a)the last guy I dated cheated on me – that’s why I don’t have a man or b)I have a man, but he’s married or c)I’m trying to lose 15lbs before I start dating again. Maybe what he hopes to hear is “I’m not looking for a man, I just wanna have casual sex.

I’m no Steve Harvey and certainly am not in a position to give much love advice, but since men and women have ENOUGH trouble communicating as it is, I’d request to men that if you want to know if a girl is single, ask – are you single?

~ by 2muchtv on April 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
