Liz Lemon Inspires Me to Be Myself

With every episode of 30 Rock, Liz Lemon’s love life is looking more and more like my own. It is scary and yet refreshing at the same time. On a recent episode of Nightline, they revisited the topic on why it is so hard for successful African American women to find mates. These discussions annoy me because finding love is hard. Period. These types of conversations, whether on Nightline, Oprah or The View often lead to what women are doing wrong, and ultimately creating another reason for her to purchase more makeup, new hair, or designer shoes.

Liz Lemon’s love failures remind me that (although I know she’s fictional), there’s no reason not to be who I am. And to be unapologetic about it. And as long as I am not “negative, pessimistic, and in danger of becoming permanently sour”, as Jack describes Liz, then maybe I do have a shot.

~ by 2muchtv on April 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
