5 Shows That I Just Don’t Get

It’s no secret that I watch a lot of TV. But believe it or not, there are some shows that I don’t watch. Either I don’t get the show, or I don’t have time to invest in the mania. I’ve made it clear that 2-hr Biggest Loser episode is two much. I certainly don’t want two nights monopolized by wannabe singers or b-list celebrities trying to enhance their career by dancing.

American Idol
Last season was the first season that I wasn’t able to follow every episode of American Idol without watching any episodes. In fact, I’ve seen two episodes (my girlfriend wanted me to tape them while she was on vacation). but the question is, can you name the winners NOW? I think that I take my music too seriously to take Simon, Paula, Randy and Kara seriously (yes, I know I left out Ellen. She’s a comedian, I don’t have to take her seriously).

The Hills
I tried watching an episode of the Hills and couldn’t tell the blond white girls apart. That may sound racist, but it speaks to the absolute lack of personality that each of them possessed. As Herpes I and Herpes II began to become pseudo-celebs, I boycotted the show on principle. The only IDIOT that can be famous from doing nothing is, well, me. And while some people will be sad that this is the last season, I can’t help but to wonder how they made it this long.

24
Well, I haven’t had a chance to watch this show. I read about the premise when it premiered and thought it would be cool. But I missed the first hour, then the second hour, then the second season. I suppose there is still hope for me if I buy the box set so I can watch an entire season in one sitting.

Jersey Shore
My aversion to this show is proof positive that I am getting old. I have no interest in watching young people do nothing all day and party all night. Enough said.

Saturday Night Live
I dig the musical guests, so I can’t say that I’ve never seen an episode, but whether I watch is solely based on the celebrity guests (BTW, I will be watching Betty White and Jay-z). I usually find myself fast-forwarding through the parts of the show where my favorite celeb isn’t there. The one exception is the Weekly Update. I find those sketches funny every time and am baffled how the Weekly Update busts my gut while the rest of the sketches put me to sleep.

What’s the show that makes you wonder what everyone else is getting excited about?

~ by 2muchtv on May 5, 2010.

3 Responses to “5 Shows That I Just Don’t Get”

  1. I agree with your entire list, except the Biggest Loser. I love that how. The 2r episode is too long though, but the DVR helps to trim that down to just under an hour and 25 minutes.

    Show’s that I’ve never gotten into:

    Desperate Housewives – just seemed too hokey and unappealing to me.

    L&O Criminal Intent – I know you love it, but Goren’s character drove me bonkers. I wanted to love it since I love rgular L&O and SVU.

    The Bachelor/Flavor of Love/RayJ/Brett Michaels and all the other celebrity shows – EPIC FAILS! Watching attention hungry, narcissistic, emotionally unstable people whore themselves for the camera was is just DISGUSTING to me. Not comical at all.

    • Don’t get me wrong, I like the Biggest Loser, I just think it should be 1 hour. I don’t need all the product placement and the crying. But like you said, the DVR brings it down to about 1 hour and 25 minutes. Sometimes, I’ll fast forward through the challenges. I never got into DH either, but I think they are like any other soap opera – they are hokey unless it is your soap opera. I can’t wait for Y&R in an hour, but if I tried to explain to you the evil twin plots, you’d think I was crazy. I’d be lying if I said mindless TV doesn’t have a place in my life. I’ve seen the Brett Michaels series, but I haven’t done any of the others you’ve mentioned. It is narcisistic. and ridiculous. But sometimes I need that on a Sunday night to take my mind off of going to work the next day šŸ™‚

  2. For me it was ‘Lost,” “24” and all forms of adult-oriented animated shows, except for ‘King of the Hill’ and ‘Boondocks.’ I haven’t watched ‘American Idol’ since the third season and am surprised that it’s still popular. I’ve never watched DWTS or any shows similar to it. Just not interested. At all. I’m totally w/ you on shows like ‘Jersey Shore. I refuse to expend brain cells on garbage like that or on any more semi-celebrity’s quest for “love.” Been there, done that. I feel you on ‘The Hills’ too, but I still watch it.

Leave a Reply

 
