What Kind of Host Are You Looking For?

The nominees for the 62nd Annual Emmy Awards were announced last week. You can find the full list here: http://www.emmys.com/sites/emmys.com/files/62ndemmys_noms.pdf.

One of the categories this year is Outstanding Reality Show Host. The nominees are
Ryan Seacrest (American Idol), Phil Keoghan (The Amazing Race), Tom Bergeron (Dancing with the Stars), Heidi Klum (Project Runway), and Jeff Probst (Survivor). In the spirit of full disclosure, if I want a taste of Ryan Seacrest, I’ll catch his radio show,  or watch one of the many shows that he produces. I don’t watch Survivor, so I suppose I can’t give a fair assessment of his hosting skills, but the category does beg the question, what makes a good reality show host? Is it beauty? Clearly that is just if you are a lady host. Should he or she blend into the background, letting the contestants take the lead? Or should the host be a part of the show, expressing his or her own opinion? Should they encourage the contestants or remain neutral.

What I can’t stand is when they ask stupid questions like, “How does it feel to be going home?”. What I thought was that I wanted was someone to fade into the background, like Phil on the Amazing Race. Then, on The Real World/Road Rules Fresh Meat Challenge, TJ Lavin made a personal comment. And I liked it. I liked it alot. Now I realize that what I want from a host is to say the things that I am saying to the TV, like “You better keep making good clothes, because your attitude is STANK.”

~ by 2muchtv on July 12, 2010.

One Response to “What Kind of Host Are You Looking For?”

  1. Probst does just that – he asks the questions the audience wants to have answered.

Leave a Reply

 
