The Blackout: Inside My Head

Being inside my head can be a great thing. As a writer, it is not unusual for me to be a daydreamer; I exist to make up stories in my head. But sometimes those stories blur with reality and it reaches a point where I’m just recycling worries. Or playing the same conversation over and over in my head until it has morphed into a version with its own soundtrack. Problems become 10 sizes larger than what they really are. As a result, I meditate. It keeps the negative thoughts from consuming me.

I once had a friend explain fasting to me as a religous practice. She said that the hunger reminds you to talk to God, and that conversation reconnects you with Her. And so I’m using this experience to grow spiritually, and fill my time with something to make me better in the long run. But don’t get it twisted, I have no reservations about restoring my cable.

I’m currently reading Daily Meditations for Practicing the Course, and Meditations from the Mat. The meditations remind me to stop tripping and appreciate the moment. Even when that moment has not been brought to you by BMW.

~ by 2muchtv on August 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
