Stop Your Whining

About 6 months ago, on my birthday actually, I went in to get my afro trimmed. I walked into a salon that I’d never been to before and asked told the young lady at the front desk that I needed a trim. She sat me in the barber’s chair in the front.

I have to admit there were a few signs that he was unsure about what he was doing. It was clear when he sheared about oh 6 inches off of my 7 inch ‘fro. And, one wrong stroke, there was no going back.

Now, I LOVED my ‘fro. It took forever to grow out, and I felt that it was a true representation of who I am and who I want to be – wild, rebellious, different than the rest.

So I can relate to the babies in the chair when the contestants get makeovers that they didn’t bargain for. But I didn’t sign up for a modeling competition. If you are so committed to your hairstyle, you need to reevaluate whether you want a job where hairstyle changes are part of job description.

~ by 2muchtv on September 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
