Resolved: Lose Weight


This time of year, I have to fight for parking and machines at my gym with all of the folks high on their New Year’s resolutions to get fit. By March, it is back to the same old, same old. There are a few steps that you can take so that you don’t become one of the slackers. Set goals that are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely.

1) Specific. For the contestants of the Biggest Loser, their specific goal is to win the show. If you aren’t on the show, set a goal that is straightforward and will help you focus.

2) Measurable. With a scale, it is hard to not be measurable, but that doesn’t mean you can only use numbers on the scale. My goal is to eat out less. In following the SMART principles, I redefine my goal to eat out no more than twice per week. Now it is measurable.

3) Attainable. Some of the contestants fail because they set the goal to win the show. Realistically speaking, only one person will win. They don’t know how to stay motivated once that goal is out of reach. Choose a goal that you can control – like the amount of water you drink, or the amount of fruits and veggies you consume.

4) Realistic. The contestants of the Biggest Loser workout up to eight hours per day. Are you? If you don’t like to run, don’t set a goal to run five miles a day. And don’t commit to looking like Jessica Biel if you don’t have her body type and motivation.

5) Set time goals. The contestants have until the end of the show, about 15 weeks. But for me, I don’t care how long it takes for me to get to my goal weight; I just want to remain consistent. So my goal is one to two pounds per week.

~ by 2muchtv on January 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
